Singing the National Anthem

Singing O Canada without accompanying music could become mandatory in Toronto Catholic schools, if a school board trustee’s motion gets approval.  (from CTV News)

hmmmm, I am not sure this is wise. no no, don’t start jumping all over me, hear me out first. 

I am a proud Canadian, I feel this is a terrific Country despite the attempts by our politicians to mess it up. *sticks out my tongue at them* ( if you don’t like to hear these words, stop messing it up!)

I agree that it would be nice if everyone knew the words to our National Anthem. It is O Canada by the way. We remember it easier that way, you know when you get out of bed in the morning and crawl out of your igloo you don’t want complicated song titles to remember.

Now, to be serious. Forcing students to sing this every day will teach them the words, however, and this is big. Many people do not sing well, or may sing well but are very reserved and forcing them to do so may cause damage…   *looks at you* no, sorry this is my area *tapping your forehead* This will be bad. Ok lets just look at the kids that may not sing well…  and are self conscience about it. 

What are the other students going to do when they sing.. just sing along and encourage them? well some will, but some take great pleasure in tormenting people that show weakness… and will gleefully do so each morning when they are forced to sing.

soon some kids are going to come to see me because they are being bullied in a new fashion. I don’t like seeing kids tormented, but I see quite a few. It is sad, and to see another thing that will be put in place that will do that is disturbing to me.

I would hope teachers handle this with care, if done right from the first day perhaps I won’t see more visitors… perhaps it would be fine to just say the words? not sing? please?  

Now for those that sing well, or like to sing and don’t care if wine glasses break…. that is great. It is a pretty song and my heart swells each time I hear it or sing it.

but I take great aversion to that word “mandatory” 

Now again you are rolling your eyes.. she is so silly… 

Sorry, but I have done a lot of counselling this past year bullies do not need more tools. Some children are very delicate, they break easily. Lets scratch out that word mandatory. ……wonders if the plan is to expel those that don’t sing, or perhaps detentions… *nods* that is it. lets punish them further.

 

Official Lyrics of O Canada!

 

O Canada!

Our home and native land!

True patriot love

in all thy sons command.

With glowing hearts

we see thee rise,

The True North strong and free!

From far and wide,

O Canada,

we stand on guard for thee.

God keep our land

glorious and free!

O Canada,

we stand on guard for thee.

O Canada,

we stand on guard for thee.

 

****************

 

O Canada!

Terre de nos aieux,

Ton front est ceint

de fleurons glorieux!

Car ton bras sait porter l’epee,

Il sait porter la croix!

Ton histoire est une epopee

Des plus brilliants exploits.

Et ta valeur,

de foi trempee,

Protegera nos foyers et nos droits.

Protegera nos foyers et nos droits. 

see, it is a beautiful song.

Psssst, it means just as much if you just speak the words. *nods lots*

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-) Now a mother of two little ones.

One response »

  1. cgfarmerhayloft

    *applauds you*… back in MY day at school. We had to sing Oh Canada, God Save the Queen AND.. the Lord’s prayer. That took all morning lol j/k.

    Kids are very cruel these days, but I recall going to school with some who were Jehovah Witness – they had to stand in the hallway as we sang/said all that. Then there were the kids who would lip sync.. LONG before the singers of today did it LOL

    *proudly waves my Flag as I wander out singing Oh Canada*…. Go Canucks GO!

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

