Tipping…. oh oh.. is another rant.. brace yourself

Family LOCKED inside restaurant by staff after refusing to pay tip after bad service

This is all over the news today, so I just can’t resist.

Oh I know this will be controversial, but I am going to close my eyes and charge in anyway.

so this is what happened, in case you haven’t heard:

A Houston family were locked inside a restaurant and the police were called after they refused to pay the tip.

Out for dinner with friends and family, Jasmine Marks claimed that the service at La Fisherman was not of the quality that deserved the mandatory 17 percent gratuity in the bill.

That is the amount the restaurant adds to parties of more than five diners, but Mark’s complaint was that the staff were rude, their drinks were not refilled and mistakes were made on their orders.

Many dining establishments will post on their menu’s there is a mandatory gratuity if the dining party is in excess of a certain number. We have seen this and quite frankly we have learned to just avoid those establishments. 

oh, don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against tipping, and you should *nods lots*.  But on the same hand I expect to have excellent service. No, I don’t mean ok service, prompt service or nothing was wrong service…. I mean excellent  wow, that was fantastic, I am coming here again service.

Now you will hear waiters and waitresses tell you they work hard for their money. *nods* they do, they work very hard for their money. SO DO I.

I hate it when someone tells you that they work hard for their money. During the summers as I put my self through school I teach martial arts.. I would love some of them to follow me around for hmmmm, two hours? and we can compare notes.  MOST PEOPLE WORK HARD FOR THEIR MONEY. stop saying that.

A dining experience is not just a meal out. If all I wanted was food I could get take out. If I am in a restaurant it is for more than just food. I can cook a meal that is usually much better at home than I will find eating out. (sorry but it is true). We eat out to enjoy the company of our fellows, family, friends.. and for the pleasure of being served. That doesn’t mean the food is dropped off and a bill follows.

 

A good server will receive a good tip, a poor server will not. If you are going to tell me a tip is mandatory I will dine elsewhere. Why? 

Because establishments that require a “mandatory gratuity” often do not provide very good service. Otherwise I am sure people would only be too happy to tip well. Because the tip is fixed.. the staff just doesn’t have to try hard.

Oh so you mean a waiter or waitress must be always “on” for you?

YES

well that is not fair, perhaps they are having an off day, no one can be “on” all the time.

balderdash… now I am getting angry.

now, before you get all hot and bothered. I am going to put things in perspective. In my profession. Lets say you come into a comfortable room, relax and then pour your soul out to me, your deepest secrets, your anxieties, dreams, wishes and frustrations… and then I yawn and tell you suck it up buttercup and send you on your way… because I am having an off day.

Or you break your arm and go see a doctor.. they yawn (not enough sleep the night before) give you a pain killer and tell you it really should be set, but you will manage.. and send you on your way.

or you pull into the gas station and they put the nozzle in the back window instead of your gas tank.

*looks at you*

Some people dine out infrequently. Sometimes it is a very special occasion, an anniversary, 80th birthday party or so many other thing.. and because you are having an “off day” what could have been so special.. is just ordinary because you are not doing your job? and then expect a mandatory gratuity? 

 

see, for me it is that word mandatory again, it is really a word that offends me.

Waiters and Waitresses do work very hard, they hustle and bustle and do damage to their bodies, lots to carry, and lots of walking. So when you get one that makes you feel special, return the favour and tip well, make them feel special too. 

But when you don’t get that top notch service .. well then don’t feel obligated to tip well. gawds. why should you?

*grumbles*.. off day.. mandatory.. indeed!

*sits back and waits for the hate mail*

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-) Now a mother of two little ones.

3 responses »

  1. I absolutely completely agree with you in what you stated. I heard this on the news yesterday and thought it was a joke. *LOL*

    I have always had the habit of leaving 15% that is the mandatory average for most places here. If the service sucked, they luck they get 10%.. but if I liked the waiter/waitress and was good at their job, I will give them 20%.. now if the waiter was extra fine, and could flirt he would get about 22 -25%. *LOL* Yes, I have done that before..

    The only problem is that because it is printed on the menu that their is a ‘mandatory gratitude’ added to your bill with more than a certain number in the party.. they should have seeked out the manager of the restaurant and asked for a different server perhaps.

    Reply
  2. I thought waiters always flirted… hmmm. you tip for that? *giggles*

    *nods* in this case it was on the menu so that is a contract… and you must pay it. My feelings are, There are no shortages of places to eat, and a truly “good” restaurant will not need to seek mandatory tips, their staff will be trained well, supervised well, and work well… you will be happy to tip well.

    Reply
  3. I always provide “excellent service!”…..*gglz*

    ‘chelle

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

