Corn on the cob

Grins, woo hoo, it is here.

Oh I am sure a lot of you have already enjoyed this tasty treat already this year. But this was the first for us. I am picky about my corn *nods lots and lots* We get it from a farmer, we have for years, he picks it a few times a day.

If  it wasn’t picked the day I am going to eat it, then I would rather do without.  Oh that corn in the supermarket, the six cobs husked and wrapped up.. they look very nice. *makes a sour face* and many say they are good… well please enjoy them. You haven’t tasted the corn I eat. It spoils one.

We don’t husk it until we are cooking it, that keeps the moisture in the kernels, and the flavour.

I have tried to microwave corn on the cob, and it is ok. We have bbq’d it a bit too, it tastes good but you have to char the husks and they are hot when you remove them, and bits of burn husk stick to the cobs.. but it is really good. Some bbq it husked, but that is just silly. lol.

Boiling or steaming is our choice, we fill a big pot with water, but don’t worry if there is enough to cover all the cobs, the steam will, put a lid on the pot, I add a bit of sugar to the water, not much, but some.. and bring it to a boil. While the water heats to boiling, that is the time to husk them. Then we add the cobs and check the time, 7 minutes later they come out.

not a second longer

and they are perfect.

oh, butter not margarine. Corn needs butter. You don’t need to put on massive amounts, but it really makes it great.

salt and pepper sometimes too. oh, and napkins.. *lots of them*

I can tell instantly if the corn was picked the day before, or longer…. blech. it just doesn’t have the same flavour and sweetness.

just like anything else, if it is worth doing, it is worth doing right.

 

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-)

3 responses »

  1. You know I have to agree with you on this one.. but I would have to say any vegetable is best if it’s freshly picked the day you eat it… And growing up on a farm, I found raw vegetables are nice.. corn on the cob, right there out in the field.. It is quite sweet.. *nods* Yes, I know, you probably think I am crazy, but I used to love that…

    I don’t eat much vegetables now.. but I do drink my v-8. *LOL*

    Reply
  2. Ohhhh…I agree 100% with you and Chey. I have tried the packaged corn that is husked and on the cob still…wrapped on a styro plate … blech. The ones that come in still in their husks are better yes. However … fresh that day is best. In fact, within a few hours of it being picked it starts to lose it’s sweetness. And as Chey said….picked and eaten right there is ooohhhh so good. It is soooo sweet…no butter or anything is needed *s*

    Now I want corn mmmmmmmmmm.

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

