addiction….. to technology

Open with a joke, *nods* that is what you do to relax everyone.. yourself firstly… and besides, I like jokes.

.

.

At a party, after a while..  it was time to…. uhm.. visit the restroom. So wandering in and seeing that the first stall was “busy”..

I wandered a bit more.. quicker now..  on to the next one.. phew… well just after getting settled I hear…

“Hi there, how is it going?”

Okay, I am not the type to strike conversations with strangers in washrooms… I mean who is? really. I didn’t know what to say so finally I say:

“Not bad…”

Then the voice says:

“So, what are you doing?”

I am starting to find that a bit weird, but being somewhat quick witted I say:

“Well, I’m playing golf and am stuck in the sand trap on the ninth hole…”

Then I hear the person say all flustered:

“Look I’ll call you back, every time I ask you a question this idiot in the next stall keeps answering me.”

shiesh

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*giggles*  it is probably an old joke… hmmm checks to see how long cell phones have been around….   hmmmm 1973.. *nods* the olden days…  but they didn’t become popular until the late 1990’s … wonders if that still makes it an old joke.

.

But really.. cell phones are attached to some people, I must have missed that line up. For me they are a very handy tool. I text quite a bit… but really… all the time?

How many times have you walked up to someone.. suddenly their hand comes up, index finger raised in that “just a moment motion”. They pull out their cell phone and start a conversation..  you stand there.. pretending not to listen to this “Oh so interesting/exciting one sided conversation”.. and it goes on and on.. such important things being discussed.. “what are you doing.. oh me.. nothing.. we can meet for lunch… ” while you stand there and admire your shoes.. or the clouds.. or that little target on the side of their phone.. that is starting to beckon to you… calling.. invitingly… it would be such an easy kick.. stepping slowly into the  correct stance, weight shifting… body becoming fluid.. a blur of motion…. *eeeps.. wakes up.. phew*

It truly makes you feel so important, to be a third party in this one sided conversation.

or when in a restaurant and the person from the next table shoots you an evil look with a shhhhh I am on the phone… .gawds.

Or that person walking  bumps into you or cuts you off.. while their hand is glued to their ear.. lost in conversation.. and again that dirty look is cast.. because you happened to be in their un-watchful way.

The people that drive so well with one hand.. or none as they text.. and again shoot dirty looks so fast when you have the nerve to get in their way.

or the person that stops dancing with you.. to answer their phone…. so you keep dancing, looking cool… and then when they hang up.. and come back to you… you whisper in their ear.. sorry… busy signal.. and continuing to dance alone while giggling. *points out.. I am a very good dancer*

I mean really… do you need to make all these calls? answer all those texts? … right now?

Are you addicted to your phone? does it run your life? can you wait to check to see if there is a new text? do you check it first thing in the morning or through the night.. when you should be sleeping?

Addiction is a bad thing, for anything… I have a cure for you though

can you do it?

I can help.. and won’t need a hammer either… just hold it up to the side of your head and nod when ready…

shameless links: chatting on the internet

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-) Now a mother of two little ones.

4 responses »

  1. First….did that happen to you in the bathroom? Or just a joke story? lol…I could not tell!

    Second … cell phones. Agggh. Ok. I have one. It’s uhm …older. How old? Uhm…it doesn’t have a camera on it. Do I text? Uhm…I am not sure if my phone has that on it. Yes, yes, I live in a cave!!!

    Now my daughter….she has the latest fancy thing. Or at least her da does…he is Mr. Techno Gadget man. We fought over her having a cell phone….she got it when she was 11. REALLY?!?!?? But … a lot of kids have it by then.

    You need to teach me that kicking thing btw *S*. Must be because of that fighting thing you do at…oh wait….when responding to a post I cannot link a website…..grrrs. If I could I would text it to people. *grins*

    Reply
  2. first… a joke, lol. But I can so see it happening, so many times I have almost answered someone and then seen the phone glued to their ear…

    second.. omg, does it have a dial? *giggles and runs*

    third.. teaching that “kicking thing” is easy, it is what I do, well during the summer. It is good for you, it promotes self confidence.

    Reply
    • omg..I DO remember dial phones….damnit lol.

      By the way , why do I never see you in your room? I look once in a bit … I figured if I saw you I would come in and say hi hi instead of always saying hi hi here *smiles*. (I have been in there a few times … but that was months ago!)

      Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

