Fallen Hero?

Since 1997  the Lance Armstrong foundation has raised over 470 million dollars, this was from an old post I think, I suspect the number is so much more than that.

Will that continue? hmm, probably not so well… 

I will not judge or say, for I don’t know, did he or didn’t he? The loss however, from his refusal to contest the ruling speaks volumes that will be judged, rightfully or wrongfully. 

Who suffers? The children that looked up to him? Thought of him as a role model? The multiple groups that have benefited from his foundations support?

yes

It is sad really. The finger pointing now, but the lasting effects from this.

 

I fear so.

 

 

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-)

4 responses »

  1. I read about this too. The two trains of thoughts were….his foundation and all that he stood for will suffer..and it has damaged and brought into question the things he has accomplished.

    Or … that people will believe he just got tired of fighting….and that it is Lance Armstrong’s way of saying … the heck with you all in the USADA. What you say is unimportant to me…I know what I know. And I know the work I now do is more important and the time for this distraction ends now.

    What I believe personally is that, whether he took performance enhancing drugs or not … he got through his cancer. The work he does is important.

    That the bike racing community is damaged is almost irrelevant with what has just occurred. People either believed he did or didn’t. It has become a sport so closely associated with drug abuse, that no one is surprised anymore when they hear of something. Can this walking away from the decision damage cycling any more than it has been? Sadly, I don’t think so. We have become too jaded.

    However … I myself will chose to think of him and how he did face his cancer head on. And how he continues to fight for finding cures and helping others. That, more than his wins in the Tour de France, should be his legacy.

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

