Never leave home without it…. A watched pot never boils

It could be worse

Every cloud has a silver lining

It’s always darkest before the dawn

Cheer up, it’s not the end of the world  (oh phew, because that may be a bad thing)

Always look on the bright sight of life…. (is that the light at the end of the tunnel?)

Laughter is the best medicine

When in doubt, consult your inner child

I used to think I had it bad because I had no shoes, then I met a man with no feet

Most of the mountains we have in life are ones we build ourselves.

ok.. enough for a bit

Cliches

Have you thought about them much? Any idea how many there are? (no, I haven’t counted them… eleventeen I think or eleventy eight)

The definition is: A trite or overused expression or idea

wonders who wrote them all…. was a very busy person, there are so many.

Some are very good, they often make you think a bit, just before you stick out your tongue or smack someone with a wet sponge.

Some are funny too 

If at first you don’t succeed, destroy all evidence that suggests you tried

Some make you ponder

La verité est toujours l’idée de tout le monde …… The Truth is always the idea of everyone

Some inspirational 

Life is so short, I want to experience as much as possible

Some are sad and beautiful

You’ll find your way to heaven, I’ll meet you when you are there

Most are redundant 

I always knew that this could happen (wonders why we did it then)

The acorn doesn’t fall from the tree…. (not even in a strong wind?)

Airing the dirty laundry (blech.. don’t do that)

Some make me giggle

You can’t trade shoes with a barefoot monkey.

The first time you hear a good one, or one that fits a situation you are enamored with it. But how long before it becomes over used?

Do you wonder where they came from? example.. happy as a clam. They are happy?  This one changed over time. The original was happy as a clam at high tide. Which makes more sense because they are safe from people wandering the beach with buckets.. looking for a yucky snack… seriously clams?  blech.

Most times, though, cliche’s seem to annoy people, over used phrases that sort of fit a situation, but the person using them can’t offer a relevant opinion of their own.. so they prove the point. They are often ignored, or a raised eyebrow or sigh is the answer.

oh.. and stop using…. THAT’S WHAT SHE SAID  (I am sure she didn’t even think it)

Well the water is boiling now.. so it is time to wrap this up.. and I was watching it too. See? Water boils when you watch….

Makes my tea and giggles.

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-) Now a mother of two little ones.

One response »

  1. Haha, I have been sitting here for a few minutes wondering how best to respond to this blog post.

    With a cliche of my own?
    “My response here is nothing to write home about.”

    With dueling cliche’s?
    “Look before you leap.” vs. “He who hesitates is loss.”

    With a pet peeve cliche’s?
    “The perfect storm of (add in whatever you want here)…”

    *grins* … and whether this is a cliche or not I don’t care … *I hope your day is a grand one*

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

