What do you think this means?

A shorter blog today, in preparation for tomorrows post.

I have a simple question.

But that doesn’t compare to what I do to myself when you’re not there

This is a lyric in a song. Read it over and tell me what you think that means. No judgement. Not that it means you, but the person that said it, what do you think they meant.

Now, all you that click on “like” and continue, please take the time to comment, I would “like” that. Tomorrows blog will make more sense with more comments.

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-)

19 responses »

  1. Self-hate compared with hate won’t rectify self-esteem. It’ll do the opposite.

    – Inked Pen

    Reply
  2. Well, without the full song, it could mean anything.. Such as, and not to be crude, ‘masturbation’.. but knowing you, I wold say it’s a mental thing..

    Reply
  3. Oh. I think of one thing, but it is sad.

    Reply
  4. I think that the writer is reaching out, fighting demons (real or possibly imagined) and expressing a desperate need for help, most likely from God. Then again, the “you’re” is not capitalized, so perhaps it isn’t a plea to God and instead is merely expressing deep frustration at not being with a person that they desperately want to be with – or perhaps they can’t be with.

    Thinking about it some more, I am going to stick with the idea that the writer is reaching out to God for help.

    Reply
  5. to future comments, When you decide, if you do, and I hope you do, to post a comment, do so from your own thoughts, not what you read in the comments if at all possible.

    Reply
  6. Well I think I cheated, cuz I looked the song lyrics up and read them through a few times… but its seems to me it is about self judgment… how we beat ourselves up over the decisions we make and the things we allow to happen in our lives…

    Reply
  7. I think it is about….*sighs* …self hate.

    I am not sure if you mean “the person who said it”…as in the person who wrote the song…or the person who might quote it.

    If tis the former…without the context of the rest of the song I do not know! Ack on me!

    If the latter … I think it goes to how…someone can feel as if they are being treated badly … but it is nothing compared to how they treat themselves.

    Reply
  8. I know Im two days late here Amber..But the first words would imply that someone else does something harmful to the person quoting them, then he /she does worse to themselves when alone…

    Reply
  9. I read and automatically thought self harm also…strange how our minds work, with every one thinking something else…

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

