Boxing Day

Where did the name boxing day come from?

oh, wait, because we package up all our unwanted ill-fitting Christmas gifts and return them to the stores the day after Christmas….

no?

It was a good idea?

do I get points? nope.

ok.. well you know what to do

Huge piles of cardboard boxes

It started a while ago… back in the 19th century.

It is also known as  St. Stephen’s Day.

So what is it, and why the boxes?

Well the high class would have their Christmas on the 25th, on the 26th they packaged up food, clothing and other items and brought them to the less fortunate. They were packaged in boxes for easier transportation. 

we don’t do that now do we?

We all rush to malls to see if we can get a deal.

I think if we did the other, we may find that “boxing day” would be a special holiday.

I wonder if that is a tradition that could be started again?

I hope everyone is having a fantastic holiday, filled with love. I know we are. It has been grand!

BOXING_DAY

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-)

4 responses »

  1. I love your idea Amber. It is in the true spirit of Christmas! Have a wonderful holiday!

    Reply
  2. The only thing about Boxing Day in Australia are the ‘sales’ (here at any rate) goes nuts, the car parks just as crammed and people waiting to barge through the doors for those items which are usually, last seasons, the wrong colour, not quite the right size… I stay well clear of Boxing Day Sales…sadly I don’t think the original concept is used..Thanks for the informative read 🙂 x

    Reply
  3. I totally agree! I hate the malls and Boxing Day Shopping – the spirit of the season has been increasingly turning more and more towards the all mighty dollar! I have always LOVED gifts from the home/heart. I love homemade items more than I could ever love big priced items. It seems that the “bigger the better” is on the minds of alot of people and of course the merchants see $ signs and each try to out-do the other on sales. Anyways, I am rambling on but there just is nothing better than a good ole Country Christmas on the Farm with baked goods, family, friends and lots of laughter. I could forfeit all gifts for the gift of family and friends on Christmas and all year!

    Love and Hugs,
    Country Gal

    Reply
  4. Ohh ohhh …. *raises hand* … lol. There is another tradition of Boxing Day …. in England it used to be that the Lords and upper crust would have their Christmas on Christmas Day … the servants would have to tend to their Lords and Ladys …. so the next day was the servant’s day off ..and that was Boxing Day. (Though I believe that the tradition that Amber mentions is the more prevalent notion in most of Europe.)

    We don’t celebrate it in Ireland (nor the US where I live now) … but they do in the north (Northern Ireland I mean) …. as they are part of the UK.

    And … this makes me want to volunteer … and give to others who may not have as much.

    *Hugs to you all*

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

