Banana Cake

mmmm, this is just so yummy.

A food blog/post, yay.

I made this on the weekend, there is none left for some reason.

**************

If we happen to have bananas that go black, we toss them in the freezer for banana bread or cake. That happens rarely though, so I bought extra bananas to make the cake.

It is sooooo good.

ok a recipe, and for Katie, one with measurements and such. Though I change it each time.

Banana cake

2 c sifted flour ( I measured 2 cups of flour and sifted it)
2.5 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup white sugar
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup buttermilk or sour milk (sour milk 1/2 table spoon of vinager in the milk)
1 cup mashed banana (use more than three of them, I ususally add extra)
2 beaten eggs
1 to 2 teaspoons vanilla

walnuts (you pick how many)
nutmeg (gobs of it)
Sift dry ingredients add soft butter 1/2 the milk and banana, mix well at low speed, then add the remaining milk and vanilla and eggs.

spread into greased and floured 9×9 cake pan, cover the top with walnuts and a good sprinkle of nutmeg, don’t be shy cover it, then stir to gently mix and bake at 350 until tooth pick comes out clean.

Now cool the cake but don’t eat it. We are not finished. We have to ice it, this is what makes it.

I use a butter cream frosting. I don’t follow a recipe so I had to hunt one down and edit it. This should work.

1/4 cup butter, softened
1/16 teaspoon salt
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 egg yolk, beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoons cream or milk (optional)

3 teaspoons cinnamon 

Directions

  1. Cream butter until soft. Add salt and part of sugar gradually, with milk/cream if you choose, blending after each addition. Then add egg yolks and vanilla; blend well. Add remaining sugar,  until of right consistency to spread, beating after each addition until smooth. Makes 1 1/4 cups or enough frosting.
  2. toss in the cinnamon and mix well. 

you can freeze any extra. We like a lot on ours. 🙂

Ice it when it is cool to touch. 

Now because of the egg yolk, it must be refrigerated. If pregnant you shouldn’t eat foods with raw eggs. So save it for me. 😉

banana

 

*****************

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-) Now a mother of two little ones.

9 responses »

  1. I absolutely love banana cake.. It is my favorite out of all of them. But only one person who ever made it, made it right and she passed away 5 years ago, and that was my sister.. *nods lots*

    Reply
  2. Yahhhh….food blog. (I know I told you I was thinking of doing one soon too … soon….soon lol)

    Now …firstly …thank you for the proportions and measures!

    But secondly … nutmeg. Uhh…’gobs’ is not a measurement hahaha.

    Ok … moving on … I love banana bread, but do not think I have ever had banana cake. (I was thinking of making banana bread next week because I can see that 5 of the bananas on my counter have gone uneaten…it just needs to ripen (rot) more.)

    And … since you are into changing up your recipe….requests next time you fold in chocolate chips for the cake part nod nods lol.

    Another And … I am not preggo … so I get to share all the cake too … next time do not eat it all without me!

    Reply
  3. Banananananana bread/cake all yummmmmmm Thanks for the share 🙂

    Reply
  4. You will not believe that on the same day you posted this, I was thinking of making banana muffins.

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

