endless slumbers

Andrea, on her blog, myspokenheart posted a post hmmm or are they blogs on your blog? today, Images of abandonment.

Some were of mental institutions, deteriorating over time. The sadness of the way we were treated then, is apparent in the images.

So I tried a poem. 🙂

*************

This was one of the images, you can find the rest here.  Abandoned…

wheelchair in asylum d

the days linger in a haze filled fog
running together timelessly,
sounds are but echoes, perhaps only memories in time

peeling mortar, crumbling blocks, ceiling in tatters
sitting here quietly, lost in endless nothingness
the whispers fading quietly, the screams still yet so loud

time unchanging, shadows flicker, mortar crumbles
and another day fades, melding into uncertainty
twisted and tormented, but yet so normal for me

left alone, abandoned once again
no one cares, that I am twisted, bent unworthy
I shouldn’t be here, I am useless.

hopeless despair, a slouching reality
slumbering… or stuck in time?
and I am just a chair

Amber

*************

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-) Now a mother of two little ones.

7 responses »

  1. nice work, very nice indeed – love it Amber… 🙂

    Reply
  2. How you have captured the essence of Andrea’s post in what you wrote – lovely and melancholy, beautifully written.

    Reply
  3. Andrea’s blog …for me was hard. It was a good blog….but hard nevertheless.

    Replaces your last stanza with my own ….one that used to be…one that I hope never to feel again …one that is not longer true for me … but one I remember and cannot forget…

    the place I speak of is not a place of concrete
    but somewhere stronger, a place stronger than any steel door or barred window
    tis the prison of my mind, the prison of depression

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

