Judge a book… well by its cover

Do you?

Of course you do.

That saying.. don’t judge a book by its cover.

old-books_original

but we do of course.

Not just books though.

People too. We form a fast opinion of something based on visual stimulation. Don’t deny it, you do as well. You may not voice it, you may let your mind judge as well. Or you may be one of those that don’t go farther than visual stimulation and let that shape your mind.

 

**********

Advertisers know this, packaging is a very important part of marketing.

People can’t change wrappers so easily though, we are often stuck with not just how we look, but how we are.

how we are?

yes, not so much who we are, but how we are.

20090105194248_large

If our hair is not fitting in with today’s styles, are we not judged?

When you see someone on the street like this, do you frown? perhaps giggle or point and laugh?

emo-girl-pink-hairstyle-with-pink-fashion_0

do you?

why?

Unnatural hair colours are weird? Or are they just statements.. I am unique.

I met with a boy, in his teens, a couple of years ago, he was an outcast. Yes he was “bucking the trend” His hair was bright green. His parents were from a different planet. They didn’t get him, no one did, he was a bit anti-social. His parents were concerned with some of the things he must be doing. He didn’t really want to talk to me, how could I know anything. I was probably from the same planet his parents came from. He wasn’t rude or mean. But he wasn’t going to talk to me. We scheduled another visit. He said it was a waste of time. I shrugged and told him I had lots of time. I have one of those

timeturner time turners that Hermione used.  What? so I am a Harry Potter geek, isn’t everyone?

Anyway, our next visit he came into the room and there was a girl there with purple hair waiting for him. 🙂 It was a little thing, but it meant a lot to him. It is not so hard sometimes to do little things.

When someone speaks with an accent, do you make fun of them? but wait, they can speak more than one language, can you? Have you tried?

See we can’t decide how someone is by how they are. We have to allow ourselves to be surprised by someone. Then we can understand them. Someone may be large in size, or skinny, they may have purple hair or piercings.

They may have brown skin or yellow, blue or white, black even. We are all the same colour on the inside though.

In blogland, we don’t judge, we meet someone and form friendships, just on words.  Do we do it in life too? Do you close the lid on your computer in the coffee shop and see someone large at the counter and think they don’t need that donut?

It is something that you have to work at, when helping someone, treating them, you can’t have preconceived ideas based on how they are. We have to look past that into their minds. We need to do this day to day too, to look into peoples minds as we do here in Bloggersville.

That girl with purple hair may be very nice you know. 

**********

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-) Now a mother of two little ones.

7 responses »

  1. 🙂 very true… we are always making judgments about everything, everyday… but that is all they are judgments not truths… My youngest had bright blue hair for awhile, now it’s black, she is a definite loner, and one of the sweetest kids you could know… if she’ll let you in… and my Bestie is a very big girl… but ya know what? she has the biggest heart I have ever met… to me she is beautiful… because I know who she is…

    Reply
    • oh blue hair would be so awesome. I only had my purple hair for a month, It was interesting how looks changed. From stares and smiles to more disgust and frowns with purple. I am not sure which I prefer. lol.

      nods, people are people, all can love, the exterior matters not at all. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Ech maybe because I’m old, or tired this morning, but I find myself judging by the cover, not always, but sometimes. Mr. S and I are ‘that’ couple that do a double take, there are many youngens over here that will dress really inappropriately or do things to themselves that really isn’t necessary and we wonder do they do it just to be noticed..any attention is some attention? I am sure I shall be poo-pooed with this reply 😉 Daughter # 2 has gone through all the crazy hair colours – and yes I just sigh lol. In saying this I am positive that if I actually met them and had a conversation with them that I would find out that they are just like everyone else. They just have a different take on the world and how they wish to portray themselves. I shall tut tutt myself next time I catch myself judging the book 😉 xx

    Reply
  3. Lord … I know I come from a long line of book cover judgers.

    *psst…they are from the North*
    *they’re feckin English*
    *don’t go off with those jackeens from Dublin*
    *feckin Garda*

    It was …IS hard to break out of. Very.

    But I try, for I do NOT wish my daughter to have those feelings. To be as judgemental as the past has made some…me….

    In the States, there is an interesting contradiction going on…there is so much to the book cover things….that fellar is poor …. those young hoodlums … how can she care for a baby, she’s a child herself …they’re republicans …damn foreigeners taking our jobs … look at that person talking to themself.

    And it goes on and on.

    Yet. …

    Yet this land that I has adopted me…it is also a GRAND welcoming place. One that gives people the MOST incredible opportunity. A place that FIGHTS for peoples rights, REGARDLESS of what they look like or what they believe in.

    So … a dichotomy. But an awesome one.

    I went off topic a bit…apologizes. You are right Amber….we must look deeper when we look at others. I am just so very glad to live in a place that allows such diversity.

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

