Pumpkin Custard

Go away Harry Potter. lol, this is mine.

So this is rich and decadent. But snacks should be. Tis good for you too.

Some snacks and meals should be prepared in smaller dishes or ramekins, lasagna or small casseroles, or even a decadent custard. Then you can pull it out of the freezer and enjoy a smaller meal.

ramekinlike that.. up there… look it is right here.

***********

1 can (15 ounces) pumpkin, read the ingredients, most are squash.
4 eggs
1 cup half-and-half cream or subistute with a tin of coconut milk.
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
1-1/2 teaspoons pumpkin cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1/4 of ginger
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla

Method:

Mix all the above ingredients in a bowl until very smooth. Then pour equal amounts into smaller ramekins, 4 to 6 of them. Place the ramekins into  a baking pan large enough to hold them, put about 1 inch of hot water in the pan, this will insulate the custards as they bake so they cook evenly. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes….

now, we are not yet finished.

Toppings, there are lots of choices. If you take some pecans and an equal amount of brown sugar, perhaps a 1/3 of a cup, season with a sprinkle of salt and a gob of cinnamon, spread evenly over the custards and bake for another 20 to 30 minutes or so, cooking times vary with the amount of custard in your dish. 

custard

Serve with a dollop of whipped cream or Mascarpone  cheese.

go mmmmmm

********

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-) Now a mother of two little ones.

9 responses »

  1. My eyes say yes but my stomach isn’t sure. Then again, I don’t think I have ever had pumpkin in a dessert so maybe it would open up a whole new world of deliciousness for me!

    Reply
  2. I wisssshhhh I could make those now nod nods … and, I have about a dozen of those white ramekins too.

    I am also seriously trying to figure out who took over your body…this is the 2nd time you actually posted a recipe with … with recipe numbers … omg!

    Reply
    • Lol. I got the recipes from a nutrionist for… you. 🙂 she had all these complicated extra things… like measurements. …

      Reply
      • Ohhh …. nods … and you say in your recipe too that most of the pumpkin ingredients have other squashes in them nod nods… I had always thought pumpkin puree had very little calories … (but I could be mistaken) … do I have to look for a special pumpkin puree?

        It makes me think of Halloween *smiles*

      • Ed smith makes one that is pumpkin. .. they also make one that is squash. If you read the ingredients you will know

  3. Yum! *waves wand* away all you custard eaters… for me, for me, all for me… Coconut milk will be delicious. I am trying this, and may even make it for Thanksgiving – again.

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

