Wonton Soup… and conniving roommates

Hmmm I think Jill and Megan have figured things out.  (two of our roommates in case you have not been paying attention)

We were relaxing this morning wondering what we should have for lunch. Jill mentioned how much she loved wonton soup.

download  We all nodded as we all love that soup, when go to the Chinese buffet it is our first pick, and second too.

As visions of wonton dumplings danced in our heads…  Jill quietly said… it is too bad you can’t make it.

What?

oh oh

Aimee said the soup is easy to make, it is just a pork broth with the wonton dumplings.

Jill said they would be hard to make though. We don’t have the dumpling wrappers that you stuff.

Aimee rolled her eyes it seemed the  challenge was issued. Megan gave Jill a high five, I suspect a plot was afoot.

 

********

We had a pork broth in the freezer, the last pork roast we cooked had a bone so we boiled it and made the broth. I pulled it out of the freezer and put it in a pot to heat. Then pulled some pork from the freezer and thawed it out, cut it into small cubes then seasoned it with some pepper, salt and paprika.

Aimee took a bowl, tossed in two cups of flour and a bit of salt, she said about 1/2 a teaspoon. She peppered it too with fresh ground pepper. An egg was mixed with 1/3 of a cup of water, poured into a well in the flour and gently mixed until a dough formed, she kneaded it on a floured counter and split it into two balls. Covered them with a damp towel so they could rest.

I added some chicken powder soup stock to the simmering broth and some paprika. Chopped an onion small and tossed it in as well to simmer. A few green onions onion were chopped up and put aside, I remembered we had some baby bok choy, I chopped one up and put it aside as well.  Chopped up three garlic buds and tossed them in the broth.

In the simmering broth I added a tablespoon of butter and about the same of soy sauce. Tasted and adjusted with more water.

Aimee split the balls into 4 pieces and rolled each one until it was very thin, cut them into small squares and we put the pork in, rolled up the pasta until we had a dozen or two dumplings made. 

We dropped them into the boiling soup broth and cleaned up. Half the dough ball was frozen for another time.

The dumplings didn’t take too long before they were tender, then the green onion and bok choy were added, we turned off the heat and let the soup simmer for a few minutes before serving. 

mmmmmm, it was great.

Jill and Meg exchanged a lot of giggles I am sure it was a plot….. sheish messing with a mind tinkerer… but we love wonton soup so it worked out great. Jill said she is going to open a Chinese restaurant, isn’t she going to need a staff? hmmmmm.

 

********* 

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-)

20 responses »

  1. I can’t imagine making wonton soup. Even with all the roommates to help out! I think I could eat Asian food every day of the week.

    Reply
  2. Me thinks that Jill and Megan are very smart! They are clearly management material and both deserve handsome raises! *g*

    Reply
  3. I made a wonton soup by accident once. I was very excited to cook wontons. I bought the wrappers already made, some vegetables, soy sauce and sesame oil (maybe something else, I can’t remember. I didn’t seal them properly though so they fell apart in the water, which left me with a watery wonton soup. 😦 I tried to eat it but it was disgusting! Such a waste! When you guys open your restaurant you will deliver internationally, right?

    Reply
  4. Oh, oh, tell Jill and Megan if they need more staff to serve, I’ll help in their Chinese restaurant but could I please have my meals for free every single day and maybe add a clause in my contract so I could get vegetarian wonton soup whenever the chef makes it.. Erm, wouldn’t that make you chef though.. Clever, clever Jill and Megan.

    Reply
  5. Sounds deelish! Me, myself and I shall give a try!

    Reply
  6. I don’t know about a restaurant, though if Aimee and Amber were cooking the line ups would be around the block, twice. Amber with a jet though, I can see it now going viral on youtube, skiing behind a jet…. with soup. I hope they come with pontoons.

    Reply
  7. This sounds awesome! I bet the soup was better and healthier than a restaurant–totally fresh foods used. Just seriously sounds yum 🙂

    Reply
  8. Conniving, well I never. 😉 It was carefully thought out, orchestrated and executed. Just like the soup. 🙂

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

