Look I am back

Have you noticed Oprah W has a new commercial out?

 

One for weight watchers?

 

It is good timing on her part, many make that New Years resolution to lose weight. When they see Oprah, someone that promotes respectability, pushing a program at weight watchers, they really listen. She sways a lot of opinion. They believe what she tells them.

She has a fireside chat type commercial airing now, without the fire. One where she is just talking to you. This is not an accidental format for the commercial. It lends a lot more sway power to it, you want to join her, she is very convincing.

What seems to have slipped through the cracks here though. Is she is a stock holder in weight watchers.

oops. she didn’t mention this in her commercial. She is not hiding the fact, she was on Ellen talking about how she bought ten percent of the company for forty million dollars. How she made forty five million dollars the next day (I think) as the stock sort of doubled.

But in her commercial, where implied honesty is beaming through, this somewhat important detail is omitted. It is not, hey I liked the product so much I bought the company…

But the honest fireside chat format would be destroyed if she had said, hey I own this company you should try it out. She could have made that work though. It is too bad she didn’t try.

Negative points for you Oprah. 

oh this isn’t a rant, I am just ticked that she did this lol. 

If I was ranting I would be talking about the greedy oil companies that are buying crude oil for $29 dollars a barrel and the prices at the pumps are the same as when it was $100 dollars a barrel. OOPS… more greed is showing. Now that ticks me off a lot.

That would be a rant.

 

**********

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-)

13 responses »

  1. Yay, you’re back. Ahem, me thinks Oprah should’ve made the claim and then said, it works for me, try it, maybe it might work for you. Now I’m ranting. I did not like the commercial, may be that’s why. Hope you’ve been well.. did you take some time off?

    Reply
    • I have just been very busy it seems. How is the new house? Is it ‘home’ yet?

      Reply
      • It is home.. I have stored books everywhere because I have no shelf space. I’ve found little spaces to call my own, ones where the sun peeks through and allows me to write in peace. Sometimes I am exasperated at how weak the soundproofing is but I have made new friends and old friends drop by to see me all the time.

  2. Coming back with a rant is always a fun way to make a good entrance 🙂

    Reply
  3. Huzzah you are back! Yay! Missed you 🙂
    And I concur with the tickedness. Oprah and Weight Watchers…well, not that surprised so much as disappointed. Wealth does that to people I think.

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

