bumper crop

September has arrived, though it doesn’t feel like it as we are in another heat wave. If the humidity wasn’t so high I would go yeehaa, but alas, it is like a jungle outside. I am hoping for our long weekend, which shows clear skies in the forecast…00 0000and warm temps…. thermometer,  that the humidity will be lower. 

Our gardens did well for the most part this summer, we planted a huge variety of tomato plants, that yielded lots and lots of different tomatoes from tiny red ones to pear shaped yellow tiny ones yellowPearTomato to larger pineapple tomatoes that were yummy. The plants are still filled with tomatoes that are ripe and ripening, so I will go yeeehaaa now. I think I like the yellow tomatoes best, we have four different kinds of them. They are lower acid and sweeter. 

Oh Oh Oh, look at this, isn’t it wonderful?

tomato

*************

We didn’t put in a big garden, rather a few raised beds that look nice along the fence. The plan was just for tomatoes, but I snuck in some acorn squash, we had one last night. I also snuck in yellow zucchini. Zucciniyelloweeeeeps, that really likes to grow. We need to find other ways to cook it as we have a bumper crop. I googled zucchini recipes, and found muffins. ugh. So lets analyze this. You plan to make muffins. You skip over the blueberry recipe, dash past the maple brown sugar recipe, skim over the banana muffins and choose zucchini? hmmmm, but why? Zucchini casseroles are nice, lots of melted cheese.. ooey gooey…. mmmmm, but we have so much zucchini growing… it is a lot of casseroles. 

Savory-Zucchini-Muffins-002_4 hmmmmm, I wonder if I should try them. 

We have a lot of zucchini. I wonder if it freezes well, I kind of doubt it but will google that shortly. Probably you have to put them in muffins before freezing. hmmm we will have a lot of muffins. 

We had beets on the weekend. If you haven’t tried to bbq beets yet, you need to put this on your list of things to try very soon. Wash the beets well, cut in quarters, put in foil, drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper then put them on the bbq. When they are cooked you can take them out of the foil and put them on the grill to add grill marks, it also adds more flavour, you can eat the skins or they peel off very easily. The taste is amazing, boiling pales in comparison. They cook fast too. 

If you crumble some feta cheese with them or goat cheese you may even moan a bit. 

I like to make Harvard beets too, they cook very fast and are also yummy.

 HarvardBeets1011

Ok I googled and you can freeze zucchini for baking. It is best to use smaller firmer zucchini but we have lots of those too. Really, we have a lot of them. hmmmm I still wonder why you want to bake something with it, so I best try, maybe I am missing out on something tasty¿? 

Our freezer is becoming full now with corn. Each time we buy fresh corn, we buy at least twice as much, cook it, cut it off the cobs and freeze it. We have done that for a few years now, the corn through the winter is just so amazing, much better than the frozen niblets with no flavour that you can buy in the stores. The corn on the cob we have had this summer has been fantastic so when we open the freezer over the winter and heat up a bag of corn, it will be yummy all over again.

Now I feel like a squirrel. 

************

 

 

About sensuousamberville

I am a Practitioner, teacher and student. I think we should always be students, we should keep our minds open, to continue to learn. :-) Now a mother of two little ones.

One response »

  1. Did not know that about beets or zucchini but it sounds delicious. 🙂 A friend of mine makes zucchini bread, which I bet is similar to the muffins? , anyway it is healthier by only a little and actually quite good. Makes for moist bread in a good way, not too soggy, so I bet you have to watch proportions.
    Sounds like a lovely garden, and sorry to hear about the humidity. That is rough.

    Reply

Oh don't be shy, speak your mind.. leave a comment. :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.